Tags

, , , , ,

Obviously, I have been neglecting my daily blog writing for the past week or so. I’ve had some things happen in my personal life that have taken my attention away from this blog. This is my hope to get writing again.

Today’s Discussion Topic: What is one of your favourite TV shows and why?

When I read this question, the first show that came to mind was Criminal Minds. I love that show and I have enjoyed watching it whenever it is on.

I have a tendency to get bored of shows after a couple of seasons. I will start watching a show (Pretty Little Liars, Supernatural, Grey’s Anatomy, The Office and Vampire Diaries are some examples) and around season three or four, I stop watching. This isn’t a reaction to binge-watching because some of these shows, I’ve been working through slowly. When season four hits, I just get bored with the show. Sometimes I go back. I’m up to season nine of Supernatural and Grey’s Anatomy, but for the most part, I cannot make my way back to the show until several years later.

Criminal Minds has always been an exception to this. I love watching the reruns of this show. If Criminal Minds is on, I’m either watching it or taping it. I’m not sure if I can pinpoint why this show defies my inability to watch more than four seasons, but it does. I can, however, tell you what about this show draws me in.

I have always had a fascination with the minds of those in our society who are criminally inclined. When I was in Grade 9, I read a book about Ted Bundy, the charismatic serial killer. In Grade 11, I was reading about the Zodiac killer. My wife and I buy magazines and books about famous serial killers throughout history. Something about these stories keeps me interested.

Part of what I love about Criminal Minds is this glimpse into the mind of criminals. Yes, it is fake, but still interesting. Especially since some of their cases resemble real incidents. Of course, I can’t think of any right now, but I know I have watched an episode and it reminded me strongly of a real case I’d heard about. The other part I love about the series is the characters. Spencer, Derek, Penelope, JJ, etc. these characters are all loveable. It’s hard to not become invested in what is happening to the characters and I am so invested. I will be devastated if this show is ever cancelled, but for now, I’m just going to enjoy what I can get.

Until next time, everyone!

