Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It has been 39 days since I started the Whole30. 39 days without any added sugar. 39 days of healthy choices and delicious food. That also means that I have started to reintroduce some foods. I’ve tried rice and corn so far. I haven’t noticed anything different since bringing those back in. Maybe a bit of bloat, but not much.

This does not include sugar though. I am kicking that habit the best I can. This means complete avoidance. So when my boss brought Twizzlers for the staff, I stood firm and didn’t even look their way. When my mother-in-law and crew came down to watch my wife’s football game, we journeyed to Dairy Queen afterwards. No ice cream for me. Though this is more because of the dairy than the sugar.

Today, there was cake at work because one of my co-workers celebrates 10 years with our company this month. It sat near my workstation all day, but I never even took a second glance. It was a proud moment for me to know that I have been able to resist the urge to partake in sugar for so long.

This has come with energy that I didn’t even realize I had. I’ve been sleeping better and waking up earlier without needing to hit snooze a hundred times. I’ve even started to do the C25K (Couch to 5K) again. There is an app for this for guidance and it is awesome. It tells you when to start running and walking. The first time I tried to do it, I had to do repeats because I wasn’t able to get through all the running sections. However, this time, I flew through week 1 (1 minute run with 90 seconds walking). It was tough, but I did it. And then I moved on to week 2 (90 seconds running with 2 minutes walking). I’ve only done 1 run so far; my next one scheduled for tomorrow morning.

It’s amazing how much my body can take. I’ve even been riding my bike to and from work. The last two days, my sister and I have been going to the gym. Yesterday, we focused on arms and today was legs. It’s been a bit of a mixed bag of workouts, but it has been good getting back.

On a really bright note, I surpassed my first weight goal of down 20 pounds. I decided on that goal in January and with the help of the Whole30 (and the loss of 12.6 lbs), I finally reached goal 1. So I have set a new goal. I want to get down another 20 lbs. I figure I will just go down by 20’s until I reach my final goal. Small goals that are achievable are better than setting my sights on the long term. I don’t want to set myself up for failure.

So that’s everything bright and new in my life. Well, that and my wife made starting line for football. I couldn’t be more proud. She played amazingly in her first game of the season and I can’t wait to watch her play again this weekend. She is a force to be reckoned with.

Until next time.

