Tags

, , , , , , ,

Well it is a good thing that I have other things going for me because I am terrible at regularly posting on my blog. I’m going to be trying a few different techniques to remind me that I should blog at least weekly. We will see how that goes.

In other news, I’ve started something new. A couple of things actually since the last time that I posted. I’ve started a new job. It’s definitely an interesting position and I’m learning a lot. But that isn’t the new thing I wanted to write about. Previously, I’ve written about my experience with the Whole30, which I still think is a great program, but I’m trying a new one right now: Fast-5.

Fast-5

The Fast-5 is a program that operates using appetite correction. In simple terms, on this program, you fast for 19 hours of the day. Yup, nineteen hours. The hours are pretty amenable, but the recommended hours are between 10 PM and 5 PM. So every night, I stop eating at 10 PM and am not supposed to start until 5 PM.

Up until I started this program last week (July 5), I was the type of person that ate all day long. I was always hungry and needed snacks throughout the day to hold back my hunger pains. It wasn’t helping me lose any weight. I tried eating breakfast. I tried eating in moderation, which really doesn’t work for me. Even on the Whole 30, I found myself eating a lot to keep hunger at bay, even if I was eating healthier.

My mom has been on this program for a few months now and recommended it to me, so I thought I would give it a shot. I’m still working to get my fasting time up to 19 hours. I started fasting from 10 PM to 1PM and have been dialing it back to 1:30, 1:45, 2:30 and today, I am fasting until 3:30 PM. It is testing my willpower most days because I want to eat. I’m not necessarily hungry, but I want to put food in my mouth because that is what I do. I do it when I’m bored, when I’m sad, when I’m angry. So this is challenging a lot of the belief I have about what I am capable of.

Thus far, I am capable of fasting for 17.5 hours without any significant side effects. I still feel like my stomach is growling at me to eat on a regular basis, but it isn’t unbearable. I drink a lot more water than I used to. Even more than when I was on the Whole30 and it is more consistent.

One of the thing that I love about this plan so far is that I can eat whatever I want during the 5 hour period after I break-fast. I can also eat as much as I want. So I don’t have to count calories or say no to having ice cream if I want it. The general rule of thumb is that you should eat healthy and balanced between your target hours, but it is not a requirement. I was concerned about over eating, but I haven’t seen that I’m doing that as of yet. It may be because I’m working my way back slowly that my body is adjusting, but we will see.

So what do I do instead of eat?

Well this morning on my break, I played a game on my phone and read a bit of The Hobbit. On my ‘lunch’ break, I went for a walk around my work. There is a nice park nearby, so I walked there and hung out on the swings for a bit (picture below). I even walked up the hill there just to get my heart rate going a bit. This afternoon, I sat with a co-worker and chatted until it was time to break-fast. Each of the activities allowed me to get my mind off any hunger pains I felt. Today was a good day and it was a bit easier than the weekend because I had work to distract me from the time. But the break room smells like food, so tomorrow, I will probably go for short walks on most of my breaks to help keep the hunger at bay.

For those of you interested in learning about around the Fast-5 program, you can download the short book about it here: https://shop.bertherring.com/collections/free-digital-downloads

I look forward to writing more soon and keeping you updated on my progress.

J

