Tags

, ,

I did it! I successfully completed my 30 day challenge. Not only did I eat as per the Whole30 rules, but I did my exercises and posted to my blog every day for the past 30 days! My prize is feeling better than I have in a long time and getting to see how much weight I lost.

My Starting Weight: 267.2 lbs

Today’s Weight: 254.6 lbs

Weight Lost: 12.6 lbs

And today beings the reintroduction plan for after the Whole 30. There are four stages of this plan: reintroducing foods on Day 1 (today), Day 4, Day 7 and Day 10. There are four food groups to reintroduce and you can mix it up depending on what you want to start with. These food groups are dairy, gluten-containing grains, gluten-free grains and legumes.

Here’s what we’d like you to do instead: introduce “less healthy” foods back into your diet one group at a time, while keeping the rest of your diet as Whole30-clean as possible. Think about it like a scientific trial, in which your Whole30 is the “control” and the one food group you are trying to evaluate is the “experimental group.” Sure, you’ll get some added sugar in many of your “experimental” foods, but the key is not combining food groups in any one testing day.

Here is my reintroduction schedule and a bit more on how it will work:

Day 1: Evaluate gluten-containing grains,while keeping the rest of your diet Whole30-compliant. Gluten is such nasty stuff that we want to break it out from the other grains, so you can evaluate it all by itself. Over the course of your day, eat a whole-wheat bagel, a side of pasta, and a dinner roll. (Most beers contain gluten, so drinking one beer would count here, too.) See how you feel that day, and the next day, and so on. Evaluate your experience and decide how often and how much to incorporate gluten grains into your regular diet—if at all. (We recommend not at all.)

Day 4: Evaluate dairy,while keeping the rest of your diet Whole30-compliant. Have yogurt in the morning, some cheese in the afternoon, and ice cream after dinner. Evaluate how you feel that day, and the next day, and perhaps even the day after that. Stomach feel like you’re about to birth an alien? Suddenly feeling all congested and headachy? Skin break out in the next day or two? You may need to limit your dairy consumption to very small quantities or only certain items (yogurt, but not ice cream) during “off plan” meals, or you may decide that the aftereffects mean that all dairy is simply never worth it.

Day 7: Evaluate non-gluten grains,while keeping the rest of your diet Whole30-compliant.Eat a serving of white rice, some corn tortilla chips, and a slice of gluten-free bread. See how you feel that day, and the next day, and so on. Pay attention to your reactions and decide how, how often, and how much to incorporate grains into your regular diet—if at all.

Day 10: Evaluate legumes, while keeping the rest of your diet Whole30-compliant. Try some peanut butter, a bowl of lentil soup, some tofu, and a side of black beans. See how you feel that day, and the next day, and so on. Evaluate your experience and decide how, how often, and how much to incorporate legumes into your regular diet—if at all.

So, I am going to start jogging. In 30 minutes, I walked/jogged 3.09 km. I am not quite sure what else I am going to do from this point on, but I want to keep it up. Ashleigh and I have signed up for a 5km Foam Fest race in Saskatoon in July 2015, so I want to be ready for that.

I will probably only be posting once a week unless something changes.

Until next time!

