Tags

, ,

Well it was a nice early morning for me. Last night, I put a blanket over the blinds in my bedroom to make it darker. Olivia does not like this because she can no longer sit on the windowsill. However, I went to sleep easily and I woke up feeling good. I had an awesome sleep.

Today was a break for pushups, so I started with 120 crunches. Those were pretty good. They rough towards the end, but it was good. Up next was the 40 second plank. This was a bit harder today, but still alright. Finally, I did the 185 squats. Woot! Those were a good workout!

However, my last exercise today was that I walked to work. It took me 33 minutes. Normally, this takes a bit less time, but I stopped to help someone out. It was a warm day, but the wind was freezing and it was drizzling rain.

For breakfast, I made a four eggs with ground beef (taco seasoned) again. It was awesome, but now I am out of ground beef. I will have to go back to having spinach in my eggs.

My Whole30 email today is about Broadening my Horizons. We are in the home stretch with only 8 days left, so there are some tips on what to expect. Some participants did not experience any of the really good benefits until the last few days of the Whole30, so keep trucking if that is you. You may choose to continue with the Whole30 afterwards if you still are not feeling it, or your cravings are still offering a lot of protest. I am starting to realize that I no longer have cravings so much as ‘It is there, I want it,’ type feelings. I’m not sure what the programs view on that is, but even those are getting less and less.

Then there is the ‘happiness-stealing traps’ listed below:

  • I’d be happier if I just had less to do. Our minds often try to trick us into thinking we’d be happier if we didn’t have to work. We imagine a life of leisure and deceive ourselves into thinking this kind of lifestyle would make us happy. However, the truth is that idleness often leads to boredom and depression. We are industrious, creative beings. We need challenge and accomplishment to be happy. Get up and invest yourself into something significant and you will find that your happiness factor will rise!
  • It’s not me, it’s you. Our minds lead us to believe we are unhappy due to our spouse, parents, or some other person in our lives. We throw blame, but it takes two to tango. Generally, we are as much, if not more, to blame than others in our lives. We need to accept responsibility for our situation and do our part to make the best of it. Taking personal responsibility for our actions is the beginning of true happiness.
  • If I just had… Our minds deceive us into thinking we’ll be happy when we get the right job or the right house or the right car or whatever. There is nothing wrong with wanting better things or circumstances, but these do not automatically make us happy. They may create a temporary high, but this quickly wears off. Those wanting a lasting happiness must acknowledge that this is a bottomless pit that we can never fill.
  • I like things just the way they are and never want them to change. Believing this is just letting yourself be set up for a fall. Life is a journey of constant change, some of which we control and some we don’t. Resisting change or trying to control the change is self-defeating. Being adaptable is very important to your happiness.
  • I’ll wait until I’m really ready. Over-thinking every decision will leave you stymied. Weighing the risks, analyzing the possibilities and making a plan are important, but nothing ever happens until a decision is made and action is taken. We very rarely have perfect information when making choices. Stop sweating it so much! Don’t let your mind trap you into over-analyzing everything!
  • I know I shouldn’t, but… Our minds try to trick us into denying the effects of our bad habits and rationalizing our behavior with flimsy excuses. For example, “I know I shouldn’t smoke, but it helps me keep the weight off.” Or, “I know I shouldn’t eat this, but life just isn’t worth living if I can’t enjoy it.” A major health issue like cancer, heart disease, or diabetes will certainly challenge your happiness. Don’t let your mind get away with this trick!
  • I could never… Our brains often trick us into thinking we can’t. “I could never go back to school. I don’t have the money.” Or, “I can’t learn to do that. I’m too old.” Don’t fall for this trick! Your brain will lead you around like a dog on a leash if you let it. You are full of potential, and although your circumstances might add a degree of difficulty, it is nothing that a little persistence and ingenuity can’t overcome. Henry Ford said, “Whether you think that you can, or that you can’t, you are usually right.”

Source: http://www.dumblittleman.com/2009/06/12-tricks-your-brain-is-playing-on-you.html

Finally, there is a reminder to play and have fun more. Here are 5 simple ways to do it from the email:

  • Go after laughter. If you suspect you’re laughing less as time goes on, you may be right. A researcher at University of Glamorgan in Wales concluded that as people age, they don’t laugh as often. But giggles are good for you: They lower stress levels, exercise your lungs, strengthen your immune system and may even protect you against heart disease. Plus, laughing is loads of fun. Make a point of watching a funny movie, TV show or stand-up comedy routine. Click on those hilarious videos your Facebook pals are passing around. Tell some jokes. You’ll feel better for it!
  • Switch up your same-old. Stuck in a rut? Now, that’s no fun. Try shaking things up a little. Take a different walk to work or school and admire the scenery. Do your weekly grocery shopping at a store you’re not used to. Who knows what new gourmet treats you may find? It doesn’t even have to be much of a change to make it fun.
  • Sign up with your social circle. If you’re planning to take an exercise class or evening course, get friends to go with you. Weekly aqua fitness sessions can be a hoot when pals join in and you crack jokes throughout class. Experts at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research say that people are happier when they have a connection to their community.
  • Do something you suck at. Yes, really! Whether it’s balancing on a slackline, flying a kite with your neighbor’s kid, or working on your swan dive, it can be fun to add activities to your everyday life that you haven’t mastered. We’re not talking about setting yourself up for frustration, but challenging yourself to a task you don’t yet know how to do. Without the pressure of having to be perfect, you’re free to laugh at your clumsy attempts, maybe learn something new and, most important of all, just enjoy yourself.
  • Practice peace, love, and forgiveness. Naturally, life is less fun when you’re hung up on your neighbor’s noisy car muffler, your co-worker’s gossiping habit, or your own thighs. When you make a point of extending goodwill and forgiveness—and yes, that includes a healthy dose of self-love—you can let go of what makes you grumpy.

Source: http://www.besthealthmag.ca/

For lunch, I had balsamic chicken, spinach, cherry tomatoes and raspberries.

For supper, I had some balsamic chicken and some taco seasoned chicken. I also had cherry tomatoes and a salad.

Until tomorrow!

