Tags

, ,

10 DAYS LEFT!!!!! And I feel like a champion. I did my 25 pushups with little issue today and it was the same for my 30 second plank. It is a rest day for squats and crunches, so that was a nice break today.

image

Olivia and I resting after my exercises! Yes. I was still laying on the floor.

Apparently I am out of eggs as well, so I need to go shopping at some point here. With classes, that gets a bit more difficult. It will probably have to be a trip over lunch to get me thought until tomorrow. For breakfast, I had chicken with spices.

My Whole30 email today is about the media and how it may be affecting my experience. The first bit of offered information is about body image.

Media & Body Image

The media’s influence on our lives:

  • A study of 4,294 network television commercials revealed that 1 out of every 3.8 commercials send some sort of “attractiveness message,” telling viewers what is or is not attractive.
  • In articles about fitness or exercise plans, 74% cited “to become more attractive” as a reason to start exercising, and 51% noted the need to lose weight or burn calories.
  • Among children 8 – 10 years old, 50% are dissatisfied with their body size.
  • Among 9 – 11 year olds, 46% are on diets “sometimes” or “very often.”
  • 82% of those 9 – 11 year old’s families are also on diets “sometimes” or “very often.”
  • Among 11 – 13 year old girls, more than 50% believe they are overweight
  • An average US woman is 5’4″ tall weighing 140 pounds; the average US model is 5’11” weighing 117 pounds!
  • 44% of US women are on a diet.
  • 29% of US men are on a diet.
  • 35% of people on a diet develop some sort of pathology around food.
  • $109 million is spent in the US every day on diet and weight loss products.

Statistics from eatingdisorders411.com and nationaleatingdisorders.org

Those are some pretty scary stats.

The world we now lives in expects that we are willing and able to bow down to the social constraints regarding what our bodies look like. It also expects that we push hard and far to get there, even if it is not something that we want or care for.  There is a lot of shaming from all body types against other body types. However, I think that it is extremely important to remember that what you want your body to look like and what you are happy with is what is important.

I have struggled a lot with how my body looks. I look in the mirror and see this big belly or flabby arms or thunder thighs and wished to be different. I still struggle with that some days. There are a lot of things being said every day about how our bodies should look and how we should make them look that way. This program has started to help me realize that my health is so much more important than just the way my body looks. I’m going to try to start to turn that into positive thinking about my body. I’m not sure how that will manifest yet, but I’m working on it.

Here is some information from the email on how to do that:

The Best Version of Us

Most of us tend to be pretty goal oriented, and guiding our behavior with a mission can be very beneficial. But it can also be stressful and a source of unnecessary self-judgment.

As Melissa Joulwan writes:

“What if I’ve been looking at this thing from the wrong direction all along?

My underlying motivation for all of it – the weight loss, the physical challenges, the healthy eating – has always been that I wanted to be the best version of myself that I could possibly be. Happy, healthy, fit, strong, attractive. But that pure motivation got bastardized into numbers and external measures that divorced what I wanted from what I did.

So what if I try something different? For the first time in almost 30 years, what if I don’t set a physical goal – no weight loss, no leaning out, no target time on the clock or weight on the bar.

Instead, what if I just behave like the best version of myself? Then I will be her.

What would happen if instead of setting goals to become a “better you,” you simply lived as the Best Version of Yourself? <– check out this link! It is awesome.

Media’s Influence On Our Lives:

  • Time the average American watches TV each day: 4 hours
  • Time the average 65-year old has spent watching TV: 9 years
  • Number of hours per day that TV is on in an average U.S. home: 6 hours, 47 minutes
  • Percentage of Americans that regularly watch television while eating dinner: 66
  • Number of minutes per week parents spend in meaningful conversation with their children: 3.5
  • Number of minutes per week the average child watches television: 1,680
  • Hours per year the average American youth spends in school: 900
  • Hours per year the average American youth watches television: 1,500
  • Number of 30-second TV commercials seen in a year by an average child: 20,000
  • Percentage of local TV news broadcast time devoted to advertising: 30

Statistics from Kill Your TV on whole9life.com

For lunch, I had balsamic chicken and steamed veggies. I really need groceries. Good thing is that I get to go shopping after work to pick some up.

For supper, I also had balsamic chicken, spinach, cherry tomatoes and raspberries. As you can tell, I bought groceries, which involved a trip to Costco and it was sample day. So difficult to keep walking, but I did it.

Then I had French class. I have a test next week. Ominous. I walked up and down the stairs again. Plus I had a ton of energy.

Until tomorrow!

