Tags

, ,

Happy Halloween, my devoted readers! No candy for me this year!

Today is day fifteen of thirty which means that I have successfully reached the halfway point. It also means that tomorrow I start the NaNoWriMo. Exciting!

So for my exercises today, I did 18 pushups. I split them up into 3 groups of 6 again and they went alright. I’m hoping this will continue to not get worse, but actually start to get better. Then I had 95 crunches. I ended up having to mark down every 10 I did because I’m starting to lose track. Then it was on the 140 squats. They went pretty good today. Once again, I will attempt the plank later.

For breakfast, I ran out of eggs, so I basically had a mini lunch for breakfast. I had balsamic chicken and spinach. I only had a portion of what I normally do. It was just something to get me through until lunch.

My Whole30 email is all about the halfway point. There is a reminder that you may not be feeling all the effects mentioned in the previous emails, but it can take time. It also tells you to celebrate your success of getting to this point, but not with food – any type, healthy or not. This just continues the cycle that got you into trouble in the first place because once you are off the Whole30 you will most likely revert back to eating junk food as a treat. Some other ways to treat yourself:

  • Get a massage. Relax, recover, and improve your health in countless ways.
  • Give yourself a 10-class punch card to your favorite yoga studio. Yoga is great for the body and the mind.
  • Toot your own horn! Announce your success on Facebook, Twitter, your blog, or theWhole30 forum. You might end up inspiring someone else to take this journey with you.
  • Pants fitting a little too baggy these days? Treat yourself to a new belt to hold ‘em up!
  • Invest in a fabulous healthy-eating cookbook—money well-spent on your journey to lifelong health.
  • Head out on a hike. You might be surprised at your increased energy and stamina.
  • Sleeping more soundly because of the Whole30? Kick that up a notch with some luxurious, high thread-count bed sheets.
  • Wanting to try kettlebell training, but think they’re too expensive? Today’s your day to splurge.
  • Get together with friends for a pedicure party (maybe in purple?) Good friends increase your happiness and lower stress and the color violet represents purpose and success. Double-reward!

Next up was some ‘What if…’ questions. Here are the ones I found helpful:

Q: What if…you’re having scale withdrawal?

A: Don’t give in! Stepping away from the scale allows you to focus on all of the other results you are experiencing. There are so many physical, mental, and emotional benefits that you may end up ignoring just because you’re distracted by that silly number on the scale.

If you really need physical evidence of your progress, use other signs that you’re getting healthier. Are your clothes fitting better? Is your skin clearer? Are your eyes brighter? Do people say you look better, leaner, happier? These things are far more important than the number on the scale anyway!

Q: What if…you’re getting bored with the food you’re eating?

A: Then hold tight! We have a great post coming up on Day 17 with tons of ideas on how to spice things up in the kitchen.

Q: What if…there’s a Zombie Apocalypse and you’re in the middle of your Whole30?

A: Don’t worry, we’ve covered that, too! Read our plan for surviving a Zombie Invasion. (<– Seriously, check that link out) Yes! You can still eat Good Food while attempting to fight off the gathering undead hordes. And our plan works really well for other natural disasters too, like blizzards, ice storms, and hurricanes.

The final words of wisdom for today: do not fall victim to the “What the Hell” effect. This is effectively falling off the wagon and choosing to stay in the mud. Lets say, you eat something that has sugar hidden in the ingredients despite someone’s assurances that there is no sugar in it. The WTH effect is that after you find that out, you decide that you might as well have cake and some wine, etc. One accident is not a good enough reason to completely quit. Especially at this point. You have to keep living by the ideals that Whole30 is attempting to instill. If you do eat something with added sugar/gluten/dairy, it is up to you whether or not you want to restart the 30 days. Key point here is that if you slip up, you should make a plan to avoid it in the future, rather than reaching for that piece of Halloween candy to “make you feel better.” You will feel worse in the end.

Before I ate lunch, I attempted the 90 seconds plank and I stayed up for the entire time! Yay me! I had some co-workers cheering me on the background, so that was extremely helpful.

For lunch, I had balsamic chicken, spinach, steamed veggies, raspberries and blueberries. It was quite enjoyable, but I’m looking forward to supper.

When I got home, I had a long, hot bath with a good book to celebrate my success so far.

For supper, Ashleigh made taco salad. For the beef, she used Mom’s taco seasoning and it was just as good, if not better, than the store bought kind. Ashleigh had loaded burritos while I just had beef, lettuce and tomatoes. It was extremely good. It was very nice to get a break from chicken.

Until tomorrow!

