Tags

, ,

Alright, I got up even earlier than my alarm today, but then did not move from my bed for a bit. My shoulder was feeling it this morning, so before I even looked at my phone to see the exercises, I sprayed it with something called ‘Muscle Mist’ which is the best thing ever. You can buy it at Essence Organic Hair and Day Spa for sure. It makes the affected area feel so much better right away. Love it.

Once I did that, I took a look at my exercise and was extremely happy to see that it is a rest day for both pushups and the plank. So I started with 80 crunches, which are definitely working. Then, I moved onto the 130 squats. I took my time with them and successfully completed them. I also made sure to stretch before and afterwards. My body seems to be handling the stress on it better now.

After that in the shower – now, we are all going to ignore the fact that I mentioned that I shower just like everyone else reading this, I’m sure, does – I noticed something while putting soap on my arm. I thought it was a bite or a new kitty scratch, but when I moved the soap away, there was nothing there. Suddenly I realized that I had a muscle there. Imagine my surprise as I have never been able to notice a muscle in my arm before. In other words, I am pretty impressed with myself just for that. Moving out of the shower now.

For breakfast, I made eggs, but like the title of today’s blog, I mixed it up. I followed a suggestion from my mother to add spinach to my eggs. There was no obvious difference between yesterday’s eggs and today’s in taste, but it was just enough to make it worthwhile. I will be doing that more often.

So my Whole30 email today is about Mixing Things Up. One of their first suggestions is to do a Whole30 meal-swap. Now, that is something that I normally would have few issues with, but I already have such a limited amount of foods I like and I’m a picky eater (YES, Mom and Dad, I am finally admitting to it! You win! I’m still not expanding my horizons! :P) that I do not want to risk it.

The next suggestion they offer is to meet new friends. Now I don’t know about you, but I don’t do that very well. Oh wait, I can do that online from the safety of my coach? Well, I’m in.

The next tip they offer is on spicing things up. In Spice 101, there is a reminder that seasonings that seem innocent enough at the grocery store may not be Whole30. “But buyer beware, especially when it comes to seasonings (mixtures and blends). Read your labels, because there can be all kinds of hidden junk in the stuff you get at the grocery store. Check out the ingredients in this taco seasoning commonly found at chain grocers:

Yellow Corn Flour, Salt, Maltodextrin, Paprika, Spices, Modified Corn Starch, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Citirc Acid, Autolyzed Yest Extract, Natural Flavor, Caramel Color (sulfites). Yikes!”

In Spice 201, Melissa Joulwan, who has been mentioned a lot, spills her one her list of spices in her cabinet. I do not have nearly enough room for what she has going on, but check it out here anyway: http://theclothesmakethegirl.com/2011/05/09/whats-in-my-spice-cabinet/ .

Oh and the worst part of the email today, is a reminder that I’m a picky eater in the title, Broaden Your Horizons.  Okay, well it isn’t that bad, but, ask anyone in my life, when it comes to food, I rarely try new things. When I even consider it, I let my nose guide me. But here are the suggestions offered up to try:

Beginner:

  • Ghee: Like butter, only better! We like Whole30 Approved Pure Indian Foods flavored ghee, available online.
  • Coconut butter: Delicious by the spoonful straight out of the jar, or as a slightly melted topping for sweet potato, apples, or berries. Look for Artisana brand in your local health food market, or order online.
  • Jicama: A sweet, crunchy root that looks like a big, round potato. Peel, chop into sticks and top with lime juice and chili powder, dip in salsa or guac, or just eat plain as they come.
  • Coconut aminos: Soy sauce is off limits for your Whole30, but say “hello” to coconut aminos. They’re a healthy Whole30-friendly replacement for soy sauce in recipes, and perfect for dunking sashimi. Find them in the soy sauce aisle of your local health food market—or order from Amazon.
  • Bone broth: A “super-food” that’s easy to make. Use the Master Recipe for broth in It Starts With Food, or this recipe from Nom Nom Paleo. For maximum nutrients, start with grass-fed, organic bones from your local farm or health food store.
  • Sauerkraut: Raw and fermented, sauerkraut contains tons of healthy bacteria to keep your tummy happy—think natural probiotics. Purchase it at your local health food market, or let Whole9 Envoy Extraordinaire Stephanie McCormack teach you how to make your own in this fun video.

Feeling adventurous? Look into some of these more daring options:

I have no idea if I will try any of these, but if I do decide to, I will let you know.

For lunch, I had leftover chicken, spinach, broccoli and celery steamed and cherry tomatoes. It was quite good. I’ve also had 1200 ml of water to drink before lunch time. Which is pretty good for me.

For supper, I had leftover chicken again. I did not have much for veggies because I was cleaning up for Ashleigh to come home and visit.

Then it was off to French class. I walked up and down my 4 flights of stairs. I also go my test results back. Component 1 was 27/30. Component 2 was 8/10. Component 3 was 8/10. So that is great.

Until tomorrow, lovelies!

