Tags

, ,

It is only fitting that today’s topic is sleep, considering I didn’t get as much as I would have liked last night and I won’t get as much as I would have liked tonight either. But more on that later.

I woke up and got out of bed on time today. So that was good. My day was made better by the fact that there is a rest from the plank today.

I started off with 7 pushups which are still going very well. No issues with my shoulder, so that is great.

Next up was the 45 crunches which are still going well. Olivia jumped over my face at some point, so she had to be locked in the bedroom for a bit and I have some new scratches.

Finally, it was onto the 75 squats. It is extremely difficult to do squats when you cannot breathe through your nose. I found that out today. I’m extremely stuffed up, so I kept having to stop to blow my nose throughout the squats. But I did it! And it is still better than it was on day two. I just have to keep pushing through.

For breakfast, I had a banana and three scrambled eggs. Even though the eggs are getting a bit boring, the banana was enough to mix up my breakfast and make it not so boring. Plus the break from eggs yesterday helped a lot as well.

So my Whole30 email today (sent as always by my wonderful mom) is about energy and sleep. Both things I wish I had more of. Part of the Whole30 is that eventually you will start to get more of both of these.

Now first things first, everyone knows that sleep matters, even me, but there is something so difficult about crawling into the bed at the end of the day when you could stay up and watch one more Netflix episode, even if your eyelids are drooping.

Sleep

Source: http://images.fastcompany.com/upload/zeo-Sleep-Infographic-FFunction.jpg

The above at the recommended guidelines for sleep from the Mayo Clinic. Now, I personally average closer to 6 hours a night. No wonder, I’m so tired all the time. Interesting stats from the email included below:

  • Getting less than 7 hours a sleep a night increases your risk of heart attack by 100%.
  • You could lose 14 pounds a year if you just traded one hour of TV for one hour of sleep.
  • 23% of people get less than 6 hours of sleep a night.
  • Women spend 32% more time awake each night than men.
  • 1 in 3 women report being too sleepy for sex.

Now those are some odds that make me want to go take a nap. Here are some tips offered to help you get the most out of your sleep experience.

  • Go to bed earlier.
  • Sleep as many hours as you can without getting fired or divorced.
  • Keep the lights in the house low after sunset (think candlelight).
  • Turn off all electronic devices at least an hour before bedtime.
  • Sleep in a perfectly dark room (think cave). Close blinds, remove all electronics with a light.
  • Keep your bedroom cool – so cool, you start off a little chilly (Okay, Ashleigh, you win, you can keep the fan on all year round. I’m not sure I can sleep without it now anyway).
  • Get up as close to dawn as possible (difficult considering dawn is about 9 AM in the middle of winter Saskatchewan). I’ll keep my wake up time for 6:00 AM I think.

On to energy. One of Whole30’s major goals is to get your body out of “suger-burner” mode and make you “fat-adapted.”

Terms to know:

Suger-burner: someone whose body is used to running of carbohydrates for energy; energy roller coaster; ‘need’ to eat every two hours; cranky when hungry; regular cravings for sweets or caffeine; dysfunctional hormonal response to food.

Fat-adapted: someone whose body is efficiently able to utilize fat as energy; even energy throughout the day; no need to eat between meals; stuck without food – no crankiness or raging hunger; reduced cravings for sweets or caffeine; improved body composition and hormonal response to food.

The process of this change starting takes about 5 days, but can take weeks to kick in to the point where the effects are noticeable. Once you have made the transition, your body will start to whittle away at your fat stores – something it could not do when you were running on nothing but sugar.

For lunch, I had leftovers. They were pretty good. I did not feel hungry until lunch today, which never happens and was quite surprising to me. I also did not feel very hungry until supper either. And supper was raspberries, celery and a bit of leftovers. I still need some for tomorrow, so I saved a bit more than half.

Then it was off to the university for French class. I parked in the underground parking again and had no trouble with the stairs up to the main floor or the stairs to the fourth floor. I took the stairs down as well and did not have any issues. I even detoured and took the outside stairs up to the second floor of one building and back to the ground on the other side. It was a great work out. I also did not buy a pop, so that is a double yay for me!

Because of the lateness of my class, I did not get a chance to try any of the sleep techniques tonight, but I will put some into practice tomorrow for sure.

Until tomorrow!

