Tags

So today is day 4. It has barely begun and I’m already exhausted. Now, I did stay up a bit too late. I was having troubles sleeping. I also slept in until 7:30 AM. So it was a rush to get ready. For breakfast, I only had time to make eggs quickly before I left for work. I guess I will have to run at home from lunch. Thankfully, I’m getting a bit of a break on exercises today.

Once I got to work, I quickly did my 6 pushups (no issues today either) and my 30 second plank (OUCH! My abs!) before anyone else arrived at the office. So I got that out of the way. I do plan to go for a walk tonight. Normally, I would walk around the lake, but we will see how much my legs protest at that thought.

In my Whole30 Day 4 email, the topic is Hunger vs. Cravings. Which is exactly what I need help with. I have a sinking sensation that I’m about to be hit hard by cravings in the coming days. It is not easier to tell when I’m hungry or just craving something and I have a lot of tools to help me. The tools offered in the email are the HALT method (Hungry, Angry, Lonely or Tired) and Steamed Fish and Broccoli.

The HALT method is to ask yourself if you are actually hungry or if you are just angry (or frustrated), lonely (or bored) or tired. If you are not really hungry, there are a multitude of strategies to employ. My personal favorite is to brush my teeth. Nothing you are craving will taste good once you have brushed your teeth. If you are really hungry, then you should eat something Whole30, but not fruit. When the cravings are tough, you do not want to eat something that substitutes the sugar, even if it is a healthier one.

The Steamed Fish and Broccoli method is a little simple, but quite effective, I imagine. When you think you are hungry, but are wondering if it is just a craving, ask yourself if you are hungry enough to eat steamed fish and broccoli. If you answer ‘no’, it is just a craving. Act accordingly. If you answer ‘yes’, then you are hungry and it is time to eat.

To fight cravings, keep in mind that they only last about 3 – 5 minutes, so the best strategy is to try and distract yourself until it passes. Or brush your teeth. Some other ways to fight are to chill out, drink up or nap. In regards to chilling out, many cravings are caused by stress, boredom, anger, etc, so if you can calm down, it may stop the craving. If nothing above applies, you may just be thirsty, so drink up. Try having a tall glass of cold water. Wait about fifteen minutes and reassess. Finally, you may just be sleep-deprived which can make you reach for sugars and carbs, so have a 15 minute nap.

So that is your information tidbit for today. I also added a Whole 30 page to my blog, so you can learn more about it. I have also added a progress page for a cheat sheet for my exercises and whether or not I successfully completed each day on the Whole 30 program.

Alright, onward to lunch, which came quickly thankfully. I had the last of my leftover chili lime chicken. I will be making that recipe again. I also had what was left of the asparagus which was awesome. I also had cherry tomatoes, green grapes and spinach with balsamic vinegar.

Alright, so because this is also a blog about my writing, something I have seriously been lacking from my life lately, I will be doing the NaNoWriMo this November. For those of you who are like, WTF?,  NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write and finish a 50, 000 word book in 30 days. Oh look here, another 30 day challenge, starting in the middle of my other 30 day challenges. In order to successfully complete this challenge, I must write approximately 1, 666 words a day. I will be keeping track of my daily word count in my progress report as well.

For supper, I made chicken with chicken seasoning. I also made an extra chicken breast for lunch tomorrow with curry powder on it. I’m trying to avoid getting bored of the same chicken over and over again. Although, I do plan to make the chili lime chicken again sometime soon. Along with the chicken, I also duplicated Ashleigh’s asparagus from this weekend. It was not quite as good, but it is getting there. I just need to start taking some chances. My issue with cooking as has always been a perfection thing. I don’t know if it will turn out perfect, so I don’t make it or don’t try to just throw something together. I’m getting better, but that will be something to explore later on in the 30 days.

I started to get a craving later on this evening for supper. I distracted myself by preparing for my supper tomorrow. I have class at 6 PM, so it is a slow cooker day. I prepared some veggies that needed to be chopped up and washed. I also took out the chicken, as I have to fry it in the morning. By the time, I was done that, the craving seemed to have vanished. So one craving successfully banished. Tons more to go, I’m sure. I just have to keep it up and remember that I have people who love and support me 100%.

Until tomorrow!

